Life Goes On

Standard


“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

– Robert Frost

DSCN2802

 

True to Frost’s words, life does indeed go on. Even in the depths of your sorrow the sun rises and sets and days pass in the usual fashion. After a certain amount of time you have to accept that the world doesn’t stop for you to camp out in your house grieving the death of a loved one, singing along to Glee episodes, and living off of easy mac packets and boiled rain water that tastes suspiciously like murky river water. Of course those are just randomly selected activities and not at all indicative of what my past week has looked like.

This week was rough. Every day was filled with a series of choices. A choice to get out of bed. A choice to not cry hysterically in public when colleagues offered their heartfelt condolences, beautifully delivered in fragments of every language they know and so incredibly genuine that my love for this country and my friends here swelled past a level I knew was capable of achieving. A choice to greet the children on the street with kindness and patience and teach 15 lessons on comparatives and superlatives when I really wanted to be in bed crying with Glee blasting in the background. I sometimes struggle to make the right choice, but I know that I need to continue on with my life. I have tried to keep busy because when my mind is occupied I am less likely to lapse into sporadic moments of spontaneous sobbing. This is nice because it makes me feel less like a crazy person and I have certainly been very productive this week. Grieving the death of a loved one when you live so far away, and living alone, is a bizarre experience for sure.

So life is moving on and I have lots to write about, but not today. For today I will simply share some pictures from my recent trip to the nursery school (I teach there four hours every Monday) and other random shots from Remy’s first birthday party and life in the village. More to come soon. The next post will include highlights such as describing orphan roll call at my school and my student’s first (and probably last) interaction with Bubblicious bubble gum.

DSCN2916

DSCN2943

 

DSCN2941

 

DSCN2772

 

IMG_3401

DSCN2912

Life is eternal, and love is immortal,
and death is only a horizon;
and a horizon is nothing save the limit of our sight.

~Rossiter Worthington Raymond

Leave a Reply

