On (extra) Holiday

Standard

 

 

About this time last year I was frantically trying to keep my head above water in the classroom and life was pretty stressful. This year is completely different. Not only do I feel way more comfortable in my role as an educator, and just my life here in general, but I also get an extra month of holiday! Since they are still marking exams from P6 (primary six- the last level of primary school) they have not decided which schools all of the S1 (Senior 1) students will attend. So while all of that happens I am working on lesson plans, visiting friends in my community, and watching the third season of Downton Abbey. I have been spending a lot of time with my friend Alice, who teaches biology and chemistry at my school. She has an adorable son, Arsene, who was born at the end of last year. If you are in need of visual proof to support my claim that he is absolutely adorable then you are in luck because the pictures in this post are pretty much all of him!🙂

I am so grateful for my friendship with Alice and my other best friend, Goreth. Sometimes it felt like I wasn’t accomplishing anything of great importance last year and that was really frustrating for me. This year I am now realizing that last year was all about building relationships and settling into my role in the village and this year things seem to just be falling into place. My school schedule is AWESOME. I have both Mondays and Fridays off this year so I can pursue more projects outside of my school. I am really looking forward to teaching at the local nursery school (preschool) and I will get to work at the orphanage twice a week this year instead of once. I am also hoping to have a small role at the health center, ideally on the day when they weigh all of the babies at the feeding clinic! I expect it to be a busy year but hopefully a great one. Enjoy the pictures of Arsene, he is a cutie!
DSCN2296

 

DSCN2309

 

DSCN2318

 

A big thanks to Mama Enoch, Arsene loves his new outfits!🙂

 

DSCN2319

 

DSCN2326

Leave a Reply

