Happy Birthday America!

Standard

Happy 4th of July!!!

Today is also a holiday in Rwanda so I was lucky to have the day off from school. I slept in until almost 8am until the lizards on my roof and the worker chopping wood forced me out of bed to face the day. Since finals weeks is coming up I spent the morning updating my grade book and while it was tedious work it felt wonderful to finally finish! After lunch I headed down to the orphanage and spent the afternoon playing with the kiddos. The older kids went with one of the directors to play capture the flag in the forest so I played Bingo with the little kids. There were a few moments of absolute chaos (crying, fighting, pouring water on each other, etc.) and they ate way too many of the beans we were using to mark their cards but it was a nice afternoon overall. After Bingo I helped Serena with the cooking- and of course by “help” I mean mostly watched- although I was responsible for husking the corn so at least I contributed something! We had an amazing dinner and it was was wonderful to spend the holiday with good friends. Here are a few photos from the evening:

It was a spectacular evening but ended up being a rather bittersweet day since I also learned tonight that my Grandma Jessie recently passed away. She lived an amazing life and I will be forever grateful that I was blessed enough to have her as my third grandmother. I have so many wonderful memories of sweet Grandma Jessie that I will always cherish. Her claim to fame in the Enoch house was her unique babysitting style of camping out on the top of the stairs to ensure the little ones (mainly BJ) remained in bed but she was also known for her fabulous mug and doll collection and her ability to chase down children on runaway golf carts. She has always played a significant role in my life and the fact that I wasn’t able to say goodbye before her death makes me incredibly sad but I know I will see her again one day. The hardest part of this job is accepting that living in Africa means I will miss out on certain events back home but I never imagined my last visit to her house in September was the last time I would see her. It has certainly been a day of both blessings and sorrow but I am doing my best to remember the good times and take comfort in the fact that she lived a long and wonderful life and is now resting in peace. The electricity is out tonight so it is the perfect time to light a candle and reflect on the blessings in my life and to be grateful for the many people, both those living and those who have passed on, that have helped get me to this point in my life. So my sweet Grandma Jessie you cannot even begin to imagine how much I will miss you but you will live forever in my heart.

XOXOXOXO-

Suz

Unable are the loved to die.

For love is immortality.

Emily Dickinson 

Those we love and lose are always connected by heartstrings into infinity. 

~Terri Guillemets

Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal. 

~From a headstone in Ireland


2 responses »

  1. Suzi- what a bittersweet day. Your photos of Jessie are lovely and fun to remember the good times with her. Love you! Mommers

  2. As always, beautifully written and an honorable tribute. Thank you Suzanne for putting our amazing and indescribable relationship with Grandma Jessie into words.

Leave a Reply

