Struggles With Kinyarwanda

Standard

I have always loved learning languages however Kinyarwanda is really testing me. I wanted to share a small excerpt from my language manuel so that you can share my pain and frustration with me!

As Kinyarwanda is a Bantu language, it is characterized by the noun class system. In Kinyarwanda the noun determines the class and other words follow the prefix.

Examples: Aba bashyitsi bacu bakuru barishimye turabakira i Butare.

These our great hosts are happy, we receive them at Butare.

We have 16 noun classes in Kinyarwanda.

The verb structure in Kinyarwanda is very complex. It combines the subject which links the verb to the class noun, the tense marker and the aspect. It integrates also negative markers and object prefixes .

Examples: Ntibwababonye= nti-tu- a- ba- bon- ye

nt= negative

tu= verbal prefix

a= tense marker (simple past)

ba= object prefix

bon= root

ye= final which also shows the accomplished task

 

As you can see, not only is the language rather complicated but we also tend to get materials that have awkward translations that are not always the most helpful when it comes time to study!  I have my final LPI ( an oral language exam) on Saturday so wish me luck because I am required to reach a certain level to be a Peace Corps volunteer! Hope everyone back home is having a great day!🙂

2 responses »

  1. Wishing you the best of luck Suzi, that is definitely very complicated, but you are the one person I know that is able to handle any challenge.

  2. Hey Suzi, Reading your blog has been awesome. You are doing such a good job with it. That language sounds impossible!! We are SO PROUD OF YOU!!. Love, Uncle John and Cathy.

Leave a Reply

