Abana Block Party

Standard

 

 

 

Yesterday afternoon I participated in what I like to call an abana block party. Abana is the Kinyarwanda word for children and block party describes the atmosphere when all the neighborhood children come over to play. Our favorite activities lately have been soccer, bubbles, photo shoots, and dancing to Justin Bieber songs. Yesterday I decided, even though most of the kids were boys, to bring out my nail polish. I cannot even capture in words how excited the boys were to have their nails painted! It was really interesting because even the older boys were thrilled and they all spent forever picking out which colors they wanted. Now let me tell you that I had all sorts of colors (green, blue, yellow, orange, red) but the most popular by far was the hot pink! It was hilarious to see all the boys running around doing their ferocious karate moves with their bright pink nails!

 

 

 

The dinner went over really well last night. Michele and I peeled 2 kilos of potatoes with a mini cheese grater to make hash browns, attempted to make French toast and discovered that cheap bread soaked in eggs and milk does not maintain its structural integrity (so we ended up with French toast mush), and created a delicious egg dish with fresh onions, peppers and tomatoes mixed in. Our family was a little skeptical at first but by the end of the meal my dad had requested we cater a large meal for all of his children and friends so I think it was a success!

Here are a few of the many (and I mean MANY) pictures from my abana block party yesterday!πŸ™‚

This last picture is not from the abana block party but is of a baby who was at dinner last night. His name is Answer and the mom told us that she named him that because she had him after trying to have a baby for 10 years so he was the answer to her prayers. He is adorable!πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

